elli
30 September 2013 @ 12:00 pm
It seems oddly fitting that I came across this yesterday!



ps: I caught up with the entire show recently. What an amazing and complex show.
ps2: Please don's spoil me for the finale. i'm staying away frojm tumblr today.
 
 
elli
30 September 2013 @ 09:29 am
Thanks for all your wonderful comments on my last entry. My friend [livejournal.com profile] half_lit_world and I went on a lomographic tour of the cologne city leakes festival on sunday. The weather was perfect and we walked all day, even though it was exhausting, it was nice to be out in the sun. I took some pics with my iphone and played with a new cam that I got off ebay.



urban art pics + bonus airplaefield )
 
 
elli
22 August 2013 @ 05:54 pm
I have this new show that I watch. I really enjoy it. It's an american reality tv show called Dance Moms. And I cannot stop. The thing is, it's so horrible and aweful and the steaeotypes. I just cannot believe people like this exist. The drama in this is so strange to me, because all the time I feel that if they just sat down and had a decent respectful chat all the drama would be gone. I know that would not make for dramatic reality tv and I bet most of it is staged. But me personally, all I care about is the dance.

Also, this competition system thing, is this something unique to the us? Every weekend those children go to competitions and win medals. I get that with sports. Like swimming. But as a teen I danced 5 times a week and the goal was to create a show on stage. It was to express myself. It was never ever a competition thing.

Now I love so you think you can dance as well and sometimes the dancers talk about having met people at competitions, so I knew before that they exist andat the last SYTYCD show Allison Holker told that her choreography was about her a Twitch. I had no idea they were dating or that they were engaged. But since I love them both I used google and they had an interview about the fact that they do competitions every weekend. So I guess that is a thing that dominates the dance worl is america. Here you audition to be on a show or a musical or something, but I've never heard that competitions exist exept maybe in street dance, but that is something that came here from the us.

Anyways, I think it's interesting. I wonder if the competitions are a good or a bad thing. They will certainly generate experience and it's something that people can put on their resume. But it also creates pressure on something that is an artform.

What do you think?
 
 
elli
19 August 2013 @ 12:38 pm
Just to show that my lj isn't dead and I'm still here. i'm just buried under a pile of work and planning. Here are some pictures from the Extraschicht event at Zeche Zollverein again. I finally managed to get DM to develop the horizon images correctly. Horizon YAY!











 
 
elli
01 August 2013 @ 01:45 pm
Ages ago, some people decided to revive Livejournal with the 100things posts. I signed up for that with the topic analoge and digital drawing. Because I had hoped that it would make me draw more and be able to practise and improve my skills since all the webdesign happens in photoshop only.

Time is just always kind of preventing me from doing it and I have hardly done any drawings. In an case, I did take them time to do some while on vacation. I also included a bonus drawing I did sometime ago at [livejournal.com profile] legoline's place.

Maybe I can do this more frequently. I'm not going to pressure myself though, but I'd love to improve.



Read more... )

Btw, I posted some older icons @ [livejournal.com profile] onlion, in case you are interested.
Tags:
 
 
elli
05 July 2013 @ 09:28 am
Somehow I now wish I had gone to work a bit earlier. Because I just now remembered that the motorway is closed because of construction. I'm planning to take the country way, but I fear that it's gonna be very crowded. Anyways, we will see what happens.
Tags:
 
 
elli
03 July 2013 @ 02:41 pm
In my tired state I almost wrote abstinence. I'm not sure if it's the weather or something else, but I'm so exhausted this week. Monday I woke up with a torn hip, went to the orthopedist in the afternoon and he sorta put me back together. Now I'm on painkillers have a heating belt.

Now I cannot do sports and I'm annyoed, because I had a whole thing planned. I'm slowly getting better though.

Also I have gotten really busy with this project too so I have had no time to read your entries or create any icons this month. Hopefully it will all work out though.

Very cool though, met a friend by chance yesterday and she asked me to go to see a free ballet rehearsal and it was really interesting and impressive. The level of control they have over their bod is amazing as was the choreography.

Also I somehow managed to create the round-up for iconmusing. I have no idea how I managed to do that considering the amount of entries.
 
 
elli
27 June 2013 @ 08:35 am
Seems I collect ideas and reproduce them. I saw a picture on pinterest about a washi tape inspiration the other day and figure it would go well with Larabars.

I've been making Larabars using this recipe for a while to have some sweets. I used a variety of dried fruits as ingredients instead of the apriot. This time I used soft dried figs, because I love how the seeds crunch when you eat it.



more pics )
Tags: ,
 
 
elli
24 June 2013 @ 07:58 am

Ages ago, when it became clear that [livejournal.com profile] legoline was about to move, I had the brilliant idea to sew her a Captain America floor sitting pillow as a house warming gift.

Now I'm terrible at sewing by hand and I had never used a sewing machine at the time. I have however gotten m grandmothers old sewing machine and wanted to have a go. I was very scared and thought with my two left hands and eternal clumsiness that could never work. But at the end of february m wonderful friend Kate showed me how to use the sewing machine. I wrote about that here.

a loose tutorial )

After over three months, I am done with it and have now also given the pillow to [livejournal.com profile] legoline. She loved it. :D

The result is far from perfect, but really good for a first attempt. The fabric I used, isn't very good, so on the side, the only place with just one layer, the filling sort of sips through the fabric. But other than that I'm very happy with the result. Next I want to create a small handbag for myself.

Tags: ,
 
 
elli
18 June 2013 @ 04:06 pm

Gosh, I'm the clumsiest person on this earth. Sometimes it feels like that. I woke up reall early this morning from a strange dream and half asleep tried to check the time and then hit my chin on the edge of the bed. It hurts. My chin is all red and swollen. It will probably turn blue. also it hurts when I laugh and smile.

So warm today and I'm wearing a dress. A dress, really. I haven't worn a dress in ages. The heat in the office is aweful. I really need air.

The last weekend was rather strange. All my plans kind of fell through, but I had already done all the hosuework on friday, which means I had plenty of time on my hands. So I started with some pilates and yummy mango and cereal and then went to the massage. I have to say that it was really really good. It was a tibetan massage. One hour. He did the whole body and had a heat light. I will definately do that again a few times to get my back tension to a good level. Even though it is expensive.

I went to the city for socks and track pants and ended up getting glasses instead. I hope those will help with the headaches. I will get them in about 2 weeks time. It was the opening of the store and so I got special prices. I also managed to finish my 20inspirations icon set way ahead of schedule. I already posted them at onlion and people seem to like them. So that is very cool.

I also caugh up on Defiance and Continuum. I forgotten how good Continuum ist. I'm sucked all the way back in.

 
 
elli
14 June 2013 @ 01:37 pm
I mean to write entries with these pictures, but I don't think that will happen. So I'm just iphone-photospamming you ;)

I will however still write about the Game of Thrones exhibition. At some point


A tree in Amsterdam Important fact.

moar pics )

I also read somewhere that there will be up to 39 degrees nexte week. I'm gonna die. I mean what is this... all the heat we didn't get yet this year in the space of one week?

Hi new friends made on various friending memes. You can totally ask me questions if you like. I'm not so good with the writing of bios.
 
 
elli
13 June 2013 @ 11:48 am
I would like very much to be headache free for just one day. *groans*
It's starting to really piss me off. Usually the reason is my neck cramps to to sitting in front of the computer all day. I've done accupuncture at the beginning of the year and tons of sports and yoga. But I've had this headache for over a week and I feel like it is getting worse.

I've made an appointment for a massage on saturday morning which I hope wil bring some relief and after that I might have to go back to the orthopedist. I want to get a different one though. This one always tells me that there is nothing wrong...and the stuff that is can be fixed with sports.

I do sports 3 times a week though and the mucles need time to calm down so I should not do more. I just want to feel a bit better.
Tags:
 
 
elli
07 June 2013 @ 09:42 am
So I have an appoinment at my hair dresser today and I have no idea what I want to do. My hair is at a non length. not long and not short.

I've been wondering if I should go back to what I had the last two times, or do somethign even radically shorter, some sort of pixie or something. Or if I should let it grow out more and just have my hairdresser take out some volume and cut the fringe a bit.

I have collected some hairstyles on pinterest that like: http://pinterest.com/ellidesign/hair/

But it's not making the decision much simpler. Any opinions? My hair looks a bit like the katie Holmes style right now... exept less of a cut and more of a mess, because it has been growing out for 3 months now.


Anyways, the sun is finally out and I just finished designing the most boring webdesign layout ever for a dentist.
Tags: ,
 
 
elli
27 May 2013 @ 01:34 pm

A television discussion comm.
[community profile] tv_talk
Tags: ,
 
 
elli
27 May 2013 @ 09:15 am
So last night I was thinking about this show, just having seen the last episode and it reminded me of many conversations with my best friend over the years about identity about who we are and what makes us who we are.

Read more... )

Only one episode left in this season. It is kind of sad.

I hope this entry makes sense and isn't to messy.

Oh and I found an essay on my flist which says it so much better than I did: http://mswyrr.dreamwidth.org/360567.html Go check it out very interesting read.
 
 
elli
22 May 2013 @ 12:49 pm
So, a few people squeed and posted images and I was intrigued. Monday night, while creating Americans icons for [livejournal.com profile] 20inspirations, I saw the first 6 episodes. The next two followed yesterday.

I'm dying, the new episode will air on the 26th... that is 4 days to go and there are only 2 eps left. Thank god it's already renewed for a second season.

Read more... )

Also I made the americans icons for [livejournal.com profile] 20inspirations:

20inspirations The Americans20inspirations The Americans20inspirations The Americans20inspirations The Americans


You can find the entry here @[livejournal.com profile] onlion.
 
 
 
elli
08 May 2013 @ 04:26 pm
I just realized that tomorrow the new Star Trek movie opens in the cinemas and I still have no plans and no time to see it. It is sad. Because initially I wanted to do a pre premiere party. With the first movie and Star Trek themed cupcakes and costume awesomeness.

But time was never on my side and I figured organizing it would be way too much of a hassle right now. But now the day has arrived and nothing. No plans. If I'm lucky I can see it next week. But then I have noone to see it with. Because I didn't make plans.

Why is it may already, where is the time?

That said, we have a pretty awesome topic at [livejournal.com profile] iconmusing. Space, the final Frontier. Just as a celebration of all things Science Fiction.
 
 
elli
30 April 2013 @ 01:47 pm

I've been very busy and much more productive lately, which is good. Headway. Awesomeness. Hopefully the trend will continue upward, so I can finally finish all the tedious stuff I have to do. Like tax and stuff.

Went to the gym on saturday. My second time in aaaages and as I came back out, there were a bunch of cosplayers behind the main station dressed as Sherlock and Dr. Who and other characters and it was quite fabulous.

Also I've been cooking a lot. Mie doodles with broccoli, avocado-cucumber dip and salad with quinoa-carrot-mushroom-zucchini fritters.

food )
 
 
elli
23 April 2013 @ 11:50 am

I've been watching a ridiculous amount of shows. Catching up, so to speak and checking out new stuff. Nothing that freaks me out by grabbing my fandome wise, but good and entertaining stuff nonetheless. One is...

...Beauty and the Beast. I think I checked it out out of boredom or a weird sense of curiosity. And well, at the beginning, Kirstin Kreuk was a bit wooden (but much improved from Smallville days) but she got better and better and the show is growing into itself and there is Vincent with his voice and TJ with his awesomeness and her partner Tess and of course Evan. And well, I enjoy the show. There were some issues I had in between, but it is a CW show so I don't expect the best quality.

that said....spoilers behind this cut for the last ep )

ETA: epic Thor 2: The Dark World trailer is now online.